Read to Succeed awards $45,000 in scholarships to Bishop McVinney School Students


PROVIDENCE — Forty-five students from the Bishop McVinney School were each awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Read to Succeed at a ceremony held on October 24 in the St. Michael the Archangel Parish Hall.

The Papitto Foundation Co-Chair, Barbara Papitto and Read to Succeed Administrator, David Guertin, Jr, hosted the ceremony with Principal Louis Hebert, which included the distribution of certificates and medals of distinction. The $1,000 scholarships were deposited into individual Rhode Island CollegeBoundfund® accounts, the state’s tax-advantaged 529 college savings program.

Students in grades 4-8 are eligible to enroll in Read to Succeed for five consecutive summers. A student who successfully completes the program for five years can earn $5,000 in scholarship funds. The funds are an important resource to pay for higher education. With compounded interest, the value increases over the span of several years.

Read to Succeed, a Rhode Island based non-profit organization, was created to encourage summer reading and intended to encourage students to focus on attending college. This program is offered free of charge to underprivileged students. At the start of summer vacation, a student selects six books from a reading list prepared by her/his teacher. After reading each book, the student completes an on-line test conducted at school and administered by a faculty member. To pass, the student must correctly respond to six out of ten multiple-choice questions.

Awards have been bestowed to the following students: Fourth Grade: Myles Gardner, Jeanne George, Bronson Pietersz, Mia Reyes, Lianny Sanchez and Jordon Teaway; Fifth Grade: Janjay Barnard, Leeana Borkai, Ariany Dominguez, Jasmine Gomes, Samantha Milligan, Rolene Porkpah, Shailyn Reyes, Isabel Sanchez, Laurica Williams and Darien Peterson; Sixth Grade: Zaniyah Johnson, Isaac Onyejekwe, Derrick Goll, Daniel Aquino, Elijah Fagbote, Tatum Santos, Josiana Sylva and Jameson Whitley; Seventh Grade: Xioribel Acevedo-Soto, Daniela Alvarez, Elon Anderson, Angelica Baez, Samuel Camacho, Kiara Cruz, Omani Cruz, Ivanoskit Fernandez, Gustavo Garcia, Abel Perez, Juan Robles, Gabriella Rojas and Carina Sylva; Eighth Grade: Monjay Newton, Shanely Reyes, Camila Guerrero, Lauvette Williams, Leanne Gomes, Tyler Le, Vethlie Milcette and Emily Bobadilla.

For more information on Bishop McVinney School, call (401) 781- 2370 or visit For more information on the Read to Succeed program, visit


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here