Email Print
Mt. St. Charles Graduation
BY BRIAN J. LOWNEY, Assistant Editor

WOONSOCKET — Members of Mount St. Charles Academy’s Class of 2008 were joyfully greeted with thunderous applause on June 8 when they marched into Brother Adelard Arena during the school’s 82nd commencement.

The graduates were led by members of the Class of 1958, celebrating their 50th reunion year, and members of the administration, faculty and school board, clad in academic robes.

While the faculty and graduates assembled outside, guests were treated to a prelude concert performed by the Mount St. Charles Senior Band, under the direction of Marc Blanchette, who also led the band in a lively rendition of Pomp and Circumstance while the 161 red and blue-robed graduates processed into the large arena.

Representing the Diocese of Providence at the ceremony was Lillian McIntyre, assistant superintendent of Catholic schools.

Theresa M. Donohoe, a member of the graduating class, served as mistress of ceremonies and Father Charles Quinn, the school’s chaplain and pastor emeritus of St. Eugene Church, Gloucester, delivered the invocation.

“They have been a great gift to us,” Father Quinn prayed, as he asked God to guide and protect the graduates. “Bless them in their future endeavors. Pour out your spirit upon them.”

Before the graduates received their diplomas, Sacred Heart Brother Robert Croteau, school president, honored members of the 50th anniversary class by presenting them with new Mount St. Charles diplomas.

In his valedictory address, Jameson Thomas Clem of Woonsocket told the class that while they will face rainy days and dark periods in their lives, they must persevere.

“Class of 2008, we have everything we need to go out and change the world,” said Clem, who will attend the U.S. Naval Academy in the fall. “Now it’s up to each and every one of us. But it probably won’t happen on the first try. It takes two, or three, or lots of tries. But that’s the thing. We have to keep trying. The one who gives up doesn’t accomplish anything. The one who doesn’t try again the next time will never know if the next time was the right time.”

Clem told his peers that while family and friends are always there to offer support and reassurance, it is God who is their ultimate guide.

“He’s been there since the beginning,” the valedictorian emphasized. “He wants us to keep trying.”

Salutatorian Stephanie Householder of Bellingham, Mass., told her classmates that they had overcome many challenges during their years at the respected Catholic school and were always victorious.

“Champions need to be raised as strong individuals; they need to be taught the right morals, and they need to be surrounded by other champions,” said Householder, who credited the students’ success to their families, the school’s faculty and the many strong friendships that were made at the school.

“Thank you to all the people who made us into the champions we are today,” the salutatorian concluded. “The champions wearing red and blue caps and gowns are about to begin new lives. ... Where God takes us hereafter will remain a mystery, but we will always remain champions.”

In a poignant farewell address to the graduating class, Principal Herve Richer told the students that they were like a large can of crayons, who came together several years ago bringing unique colors, different skills and personalities, and working together, created beautiful pictures that will always be treasured and remembered.

“I will remember a class that redefined unity,” Richer said. “Take the spirit of this class with you. ... Color the world with your gifts.”

Brother Croteau presented the diplomas to the graduates, who also received a pink carnation and a standing ovation at the end of the ceremony.


Anthony Michael Aiudi

Christopher Michael Aiudi

Kelsey Danielle Albuquerque

Lauren Alicia Anderson

Paul Matthew Archambault

Alysha Elizabeth Arnold

Bryanna Marie Arpin

Rebecca Marie Ashley

Adam Francis Aveno

Elyse Kate Barbour

Brian W. Beaudette

Harrison B. Beauregard

Michael S. Beauregard

Alicia Hoppe Bissonnette

Tabitha Ann Branchaud

Jeffrey Richard Breault

Miriam Elizabeth Brennan

Emily Margaret Buchan

Mark Gennaro Calcagni

Tara Elle Calnan

Nicole Marie Carriere

Kelly Rae Centazzo

Jessica Laura Chabot

Neil Chavarria

Monica Michelle Chickering

Jocelyn Sue Cipolla

Jameson Thomas Clem

Megan Kathleen Conery

Ashley Lynn Connolly

Christopher Charles Cook

Matthew Scott Corriveau

Justin David Corriveault

Alexandre P. Cote

Matthew Wayne Cottle

Kyle Christopher Craven

Natalia Iwona Czado

Trevor Allen Dagesse

Kristopher Paul DaRosa

Gerard Richard Davis, III

Brendan C. DeBeasi

Amy Elizabeth Deer

Hillary Rose Deguire

Thomas W. Delaney

James O. Demers, IV

Anthony N. DeSantis

Michael J. DeSario

Kara Patricia Digan

Kyle M. Doherty

Michael Joseph Donato

Theresa Marie Donohoe

Justin Daniel Dorsheimer

Elizabeth Rose Downes

Pamela Jean Dunton

Travis Durkin

Michael David Ethier

Ryan A. Evans

Melissa Kristin Ferry

Timothy Ryan Fitzpatrick

Michael Patrick Fournier

Joseph Michael Freitas

James Mariano Fuoroli, III

Taylor Jo Gagnon

Michelle Anne Gamache

Elizabeth A. Garceau

Laura Elizabeth Gaudette

Amanda Elizabeth Gildea

Daniel F. Gilpin

Michael Peter Gingras

Ryan Joseph Glode

Matthew Ryan Glum

Stephen A. Gomes

John Paul Guay

Margaret A. Hamilton

Trevor A. Harpin

Patrick Bryan Hegarty

Katherine Anne Hodson

Laura Catherine Hollis

Stephanie Paige Householder

Melissa Ruth Hughes

Gina Marie Incardone

Alysha Marie Kane

Elizabeth J. Keene

Ryan Michael Kennedy

Daniel J. Keyes

Elizabeth Anne Kinney

Steven Francis Lacey

Joshua Robert Lancellotti

Carrie Jane Lapolla

Henri Pierre Larivee

Eric Frank Lawson, II

Chelsea Marie Lecuivre

Brittany Anne Lee

Eric Joseph Lemay

Leo Joseph Levesque, III

Tiffany Nicole Lewis

Mark David Luzzi

Anthony Joseph Mancini

Alyssa Jeanine Marquez

Cassandra Elizabeth Marshall

Nicholas Robert Henry Martin

Ashley Marie Mastaj

Margaret G. McCarty

William Neal McQuade

Christine Michelle McVey

Puja Dilip Mehta

Christopher G. Melanson

Patrick J. Mitchell

Nicholas Robert Moreau

Ryan Paul Morisseau

Hannah Elizabeth Morton

Alexander M. Narodowy

Anthony Jeffrey Nero

Samantha Rae Nieva

Patrick Daniel Nosal

Gregory Michael O'Rourke

Anne M. Oftring

Cody R. Olivier

Kathryn Elizabeth Paquin

Matthew M. Patenaude

Priscilla Marie Patterson

Nicholas J. Percuoco

Ariana Marie Pereira

Eric Joseph Pereira

Craig Lawrence Pfizenmaier

Kevin James Poirier

Gianna Nicole Prata

Alexander E. Pryor

Raine Victoria Raab

Jessica Marie Rainone

Brenton B. Reilly

Meghan Elizabeth Reilly

David Michael Remillard

Brent V. Ricci

Bradley Roy Richardson

Kyle Matthew Riess

Catherine Patricia Ryan

Kelly Anne Ryan

Michael J. Sandbach

Michael Correia Santos

Moritz Schmid

Alexandria Leigh Sells

Nicholas Benjamin Senno

George M. Shakan

Benjamin Silva

Matthew Silva

Kendra Hall Sims

Anna Beth Sparks

Denyse Anne St. Germain

Daniel Edward Suttmeier

Michael Stephen Teper

James Christopher Tibert

Robert E. Van Winter

Joseph Veduccio

Laura Anne Viola

Colleen Julia Warren

Daniel C. Webb

Mark John Whelan

Philip James Winslow

Bryanna Rae Yazbak

Jamie A. Young

Zethariah D. Zielinski

Without a doubt